h1

Ages ago, I promised to write about coconut milk and coconut yogurt

January 15, 2011

Coconut Milk from So DeliciousWell, that day has finally arrived. I’ve been busy writing weekly posts at Firedoglake for “Pull Up A Chair,” and they’ve been taking up my time of late. However, I wish to keep this blog going, too.

It’s been quite some time since I’ve been able to eat dairy, i.e, milk products. Eggs are okay, though many people often think of them as “dairy.” They’re not.

A couple of years ago, I had a lot of dental work done, mostly replacing the silver amalgams in my mouth (read mercury!) and I got pretty sick, lost weight, couldn’t sleep, couldn’t digest my food.

Then, I discovered the coconut milk yogurt made by So Delicious. It really put me back on the track to good health. It contains probiotics and because it is non-dairy, I can actually eat it. Most of my friends prefer the Greek-style yogurt, but I doubt I could eat that successfully.

The coconut yogurt and the milk, too, have some great nutritional advantages. Both are good for your digestive and immune systems. And both contain medium-chain fatty acids, which you use for energy, rather than storing as fat, like the long-chain fatty acids.

If you don’t care for the yogurt, you can still use the milk in soups and such. I always use both almond and coconut milk when I make a butternut squash soup. They give it a real velvety texture.

And I use both milks when I make cocoa with some fare trade cocoa powder. I just add some honey and heat it all up in the micro-wave. Make sure the cup  or bowl is large enough that it won’t boil over while you’re heating it.

So Delicious also makes a non-refrigerated version of its milk, in a box like Almond Breeze, as well as various flavors of coffee creamer and ice creams and novelties.

Leave a Reply

